REVIEW: SORCERY OF A QUEEN (DRAGONS OF TERRA #2) BY BRIAN NASLUND

Rating: 10/10

Synopsis:

A fast-paced adventure perfect for comic readers and fans of heroic fantasy

They called her the Witch Queen…

Driven from her kingdom, the would-be queen now seeks haven in the land of her mother, but Ashlyn will not stop until justice has been done. Determined to unlock the secret of powers long thought impossible. Ashlyn bends her will and intellegence to mastering the one thing people always accused her of, sorcery.

Meanwhile, having learned the truth of his mutation, Bershad is a man on borrowed time. Never knowing when his healing powers will drive him to a self-destruction, he is determined to see Ashlyn restored to her throne and the creatures they both love safe

Review:

Thank you to Tor Books UK, Stephen and Jamie Lee Nardone for sending me an ARC of this wonderful book. All thoughts and opinions are mine only for this review.

Warning: This novel has the following: Experiments! Alchemy! Dragons! Airships! Assassinations, exploding cities, pirates, Felgor! Nasty little Vampire named Verdun, an ambitious lady called Kira and Vera, and the return of glorious young Jolan! Empires fight for incredible stakes, Lords and Dukes fight in epic scale battles, and everything goes haywire. The world literally goes into madness. It descends into a pit of hope, then chaos, hope, then chaos. This is what this wonderful book has to offer you, and guess what. The cover is so damn good! So damn good! Kudos to the cover designer. This is one of the best fantasy books I’ve read and all I have is praise. Well done Tor and Brian. You’ve delivered a hit series. Cannot wait for book 3. You need to have nachos, a cheese and onion sandwhich, some wedges, and pizza, have some soft drinks to have. These are your go to snacks. Thats how good this is. Haha

Sorcery of a Queen. Sorcery of a Queen. Sorcery of a Queen indeed. This novel comes right at you like a flying kicka pow pow book and literally takes the dark side of fantasy, scrunches it all up, and then spits it. It takes the heroic side of fantasy and literally turns it up side down. Its like something pulled out of real life. And that’s not to meantion the fact that this all happens because of a certain weird individual – read on and you will discover a VERY sinister secret.

This is one of those novels that comes along in a while, and literally reminds me you of something. Wait. Is this a unique twist of both heroic fantasy and dark fantasy? Or is this something else? I feel like its the spiritual successor to Rachel Aaron’s The Legend of Eli Monpress Series. Except this is more like the realistic and grim version yet combined with hope. I’ve spent 3 days and I’ve breezed through this. I’ve really enjoyed reading this. One thing. I love the use of dragons in this book. Well written, well utilised, but can the Flawless Bershard now own an armada of dragons so Queen Ashe can use it? I think Flawless Bershard said he hated killing dragons in book 1 anyway. And in Book 3, he needs to literally kick the **** out of Verdun.

This is like the Deadpool of Fantasy. There. I’ve said it. It’s Deadpool. The writing is so good that the descriptions are bewildering, breath-taking almost. You’re in jungles, islands, airships, and a lot of climate change facts that are incredibly well written into the fantasy narrative. The dialogue is so refreshing its…I could compare this to Nicholas Eames Kings of the Wyld. Heck! This is very comparable to David Wragg’s the Black Hawks. I’d call this a new twist in fantasy. It’s like taking dark fantasy and heroic fantasy into a corner, and then…laughing at them. That’s what it feels like.

Tell me, what novel combines flying airships with humor? With such brutal gore in this world, one should be disgusted when you learn of Verdun. He’s a nasty little vampire. A very nasty vampire. And Castor is the reclutant servant. And quite frankly, I’ve loved all the characters that Jolan meets himself with. I felt sadness and sympathy, laughed and giggled at the same time. The humour is one of the best aspects. And I love Jolan’s innocence. The world needs more good natured people like him.

As for our flawless Bershard…he gets his ass getting handed to him all the time. I’m afraid to say, the man that’s literally killed Naga Soul Striders and Red Skulls…the world treats him brutally. There’s a new cast of characters that join us in this grand new adventure, and I must say, stop getting rid of characters I get attachted too Brian, they’re so good! *weeps weeps* Now if an author can do this in a novel and the reader feels something about it. Then he’s done the work.

This. This is pure fantasy. I did feel the ending was a little dragged on, and there were parts I would have wanted reduced. But I don’t want to spoil too much. All I know is that I’ve loved every character so far. And never, and never, and never, have I seen SUCH a mind-blowing twist. Empires ruined beyond all comprehension. (And this is the only CLUE I’m going to give. Read this novel and you’ll soon start to know what it means very very very very fast!) There is such a fantastic twist that it completely oblierates saving the world stuff and letting the world die – it produces something more unique than that.

Oh. And dear old Fergus! The man’s Jack Sparrow. I swear Jack Sparrow got drunk once upon a time, then stumbled upon his cousin named Fergus, and then they got lost, and then Fergus spent his time becoming mad and high, and well, I’d say the series is really about Fergus. Not Bershard. Also, Ashlyn needs more scenes. I def got a grand sense of her, but I want MORE of her. She’s a very good character, but she still needs to learn that the politics of lords and generals are too cunning – she’s a cunning character indeed. And Vera? Poor Vera. That’s all I can say.

All I can say is, this would be great as the following:

  • Netflix Series
  • Graphic Novel Series
  • Comic Series!

And thats it. That’s all I can say. IT’S THAT GOOOD. GO BUY IT NOW! YOU’RE MISSING OUT ON AN UNDER-RATED FANTASY GENRE AND AWESOME AND UNIQUE SUBPLOT.

Ok I’ve think I’ve rambled enough right now. This book and this series is for fans of Nicholas Eames and David Wragg.

Fergus! You take the stage!

Bugger.

Oh and bring on Book 3. Plz bring it. I need it!!!!!!! 

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: SORCERY OF A QUEEN (DRAGONS OF TERRA #2) BY BRIAN NASLUND

  1. I have been waiting for your review since you said you were reading it and I can’t say I’m surprised at all. And I love your gushing about it so much 😍😍😍
    Can’t wait to start it soon myself.. just have a few more I need to get through in the meantime…

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s